Posted by: didyouseethis | December 21, 2014

The Longest Night Of The Year 2014

It is the longest night of the year.  I have had thoughts of this on my mind now for weeks.  Once upon a time it was a happy thought.  Here it is, the longest night.  Tomorrow the days will grow longer.  The lengthening days bringing spring/summer closer.  “Sweet Summertime” as Bob Seger would sing.

But no more.  I still do look forward to the lengthening days and the coming of spring.  But overriding those thoughts tonight are thoughts of the past decade.  10 years of change.

21 December 2004.  Mosul, Iraq.  10 years.  Many families were irreparably altered that day.  For our family…well…we got serious about supporting our military.  We made friends and lost friends in these 10 years.

21 December 2010.  DH had surgery confirming what we already knew.  It was cancer.  (So much for “World Class Care“.)  We spent that longest night in the excellent care of Metro Health.  DH was still pretty angry with me for the permissions I had given the docs.  He pretty quickly came to realize they were necessary and “forgave” me.  Four years ago tonight I sat at his bedside and while he dozed I read.  It’s always fascinated me the things that stand out at times like that.  I remember going through his bookmarks on the Mac…reading his daily reads.  News and politics and gun blogs.  That night I read William the Coroner’s post on the longest night of the year.  And…as I’ve mentioned before,  neither DH or William the Coroner would live to see the next Solstice.

So very much is gone that was so very important to me during these last 10 years.  DH is gone.  Home is gone.  Lots of “stuff” is gone.  Friends are gone.  But…some things remain….“Strength in what remains…”  The Daughter, The Boy, The Grandson…they fill me with a joy that sometimes takes my breath away.

The song says “let the candle burn all night”.  10 years ago tonight I went out into the Memory Garden and lit the first candle for the Soldiers lost in Mosul.  Every night since, a candle has burned for our military….for family…for friends…for peace.  Though the Memory Garden is gone the candle still burns all night ….though now it is an electric candle in a small window.

And while I no longer have seven Christmas trees to light this darkest night…I apparently have…

…something that resembles hope.

I stopped everything I intended to do last night…and built…this….

2014 Book Tree

The candles (real or electric) burn for the past, the present and the future  Tomorrow I will welcome back the light.

 

 

Longest Night of the Year

They say that spring will come again–
No one knows exactly when.
Still the suns a long lost friend
On the longest night of the year.

We stare into the firelight
While December beats outside
Where the darkest hearts reside
On the longest night of the year

So keep me safe and hold me tight
Let the candle burn all night
Tomorrow welcome back the night
It was longest night of the year

I used to think the world was small
Bright and shining like a ball
Seems I don’t know much at all
On the longest night of the year

We press our faces to the glass
And see our little lives go past
Wave to shadows that we cast
On the longest night of the year

So keep me safe and hold me tight,
Let the candle burn all night,
Tomorrow welcome back the light.
Twas the longest night of the year

Make a vow when Solstice comes:
To find the Light in everyone
Keep the faith and bang the drum
On the longest night of the year

So keep me safe and hold me tight,
Let the candle burn all night,
Tomorrow welcome back the light.
Twas the longest night of the year

So keep me safe and hold me tight,
Let the candle burn all night,
Tomorrow welcome back the light.
After the longest night of the year

Read more: Mary Chapin Carpenter – The Longest Night Of The Year Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

Categories

