Posted by: didyouseethis | June 17, 2014

LITTLE GIRL BLUE

I have neglected this blog badly over the last three years.  There have been so many changes.  So many things I’ve had no idea how to deal with….and truth be told….still don’t.  I have found myself wasting way too much time on Facebook.  Originally,  I signed up there just to keep up with what The Daughter and The Boy were doing after they moved out.  Funny pictures, amusing anecdotes…that kind of thing.

Then…I “moved out”.  The nest was not only empty…but gone.  While I have a roof over my head…and I am very much thankful for it…it is not HOME.  Many of my treasures are in storage.  While I know they are just things…they are sentimental memories of what was HOME.  There is “comfort in place” I read somewhere a long time ago.  I need that comfort.

Someone told me a week or so ago that I needed to “embrace more of the things I used to”.  I took it to mean….”be more like myself”. I will never be the exact person I used to be…the experiences of the last few years makes that impossible.  I need/want to move forward…I just have to figure out how.

I found this video sitting in a draft of a post that never got written.  Finding it…made me think about embracing those things I used to enjoy.

So very fortunate that I got to hear Janis at Public Auditorium in 1969. (Along with the second incarnation of Blood, Sweat and Tears …I much preferred the first.)

I love this song.  I’ve always found great comfort in it.  The more things change…the more they stay the same.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

