Posted by: didyouseethis | January 1, 2013

A Year Of Gratitude 1

Morning Glory New Year.  Woke to a little voice outside the bedroom door calling “Amma” and then a snuggle before we began the day.

I have been thinking that it is all too easy to fall into the vortex of “poor me”.  And so…I am going to try for a year of Gratitude….one day at a time…beginning today.  In spite of  the sadness that sometimes settles on me.  It’s easy and lazy to let the sad take over.

I write myself notes …so many notes…and sometimes I don’t lose them.  I did not lose the one from last Friday’s Happiness Hour.

“If you seek to be grateful you are earning your happiness.”

Nor did I lose this poem.

I don’t like

the memories because the tears
come early,
and once again I break
my promise
to myself for this day.

It’s a constant battle

A war between
remembering and forgetting.

Author unknown.

( I found the  poem at the website indulgy.com while looking for something work related…at work.  I copied the poem and wrote the site name on my list but now can’t find the poem  on the site…so apologies to the person who wrote it.  And..thank you.)

I can only speak for myself…but I do not want to focus on  the bad/sad.  It’s easy and comfortable to wallow in it…but it is not productive and it will never get me to happiness.  That is why, no matter how alluring the siren call to self  pity is…i am going to fight it.  That is not to say I won’t acknowledge the sad.  I just am going to do my best not to give it  power.

Love,
Amma & Mom

Leave a Reply

Categories

