Posted by: didyouseethis | July 22, 2011

WHO IS THAT WOMAN IN THE MIRROR?

Once upon a time…about 25 years or so ago…my sweet Mom and my sweet neighbor Eleanor…said the same thing to me about a week apart.

“I feel the same inside as I always have”. 

I wondered at it at the time…Mom would have been 70 and Eleanor in her 80’s…how can you feel the same?  You’re Grandma and Great Grama???  Now I know.  The “who” of ourselves is always there inside.  It doesn’t matter who we are on the outside.  The Uncle Formerly Known As The Boy (he really does need a shorter nic here) came across a quote I was already familiar with but hadn’t thought about for a while.

“Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.” Dr. Seuss

One of my favorite Mary Engelbreit drawings….

(My inspirations for this post were Jo and Brenda.  Their blogs are beautiful and thought provoking and sometimes hit very close to home.)

We are the same age inside…the same person.  It’s true.   Time passes, our circumstances change…..but the person that is at the core of our being is always there.  Hopefully, we learn and grow and stretch…becoming a richer version of ourselves.

Just wanted to share…a little Mary Engelbreit, two beautiful blogs and a heart full of gratitude.

Love,
Mom

 


Responses

  1. […] source: Love, Mom via Jo-Lynne on Pinterest […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

