Posted by: didyouseethis | May 30, 2011

MONDAY TO MONDAY…MEMORIAL DAY…2011

It’s been two months since I’ve been motivated to to write. A lot has come to pass in that time. As some of you know, my DH had stage 4 cancer. He passed away in April. Last Monday we took him to the Ohio Western Reserve National Cemetery.

“Though nothing can bring back the hour
Of splendor in the grass, of glory in the flower;
We will grieve not, rather find

Strength in what remains behind;

In the primal sympathy
Which having been must ever be…”
— William Wordsworth

This morning I went to our local Memorial Day Parade. I go not so much for the parade as for the service at the Veteran’s Memorial. While waiting for the ceremony to begin I felt a tap on the shoulder. It was Sgt. Adam Benjamin’s grandmother. She often comes into my work and we talk about the projects she’s working on and occasionally she talks about her grandson. She wanted to know where I got my t shirt…a Soldiers’ Angels shirt. After the ceremony, where her daughter and another Gold Star Mom (Brad Davis)  laid the wreath at the Memorial, she introduced me to these two mothers…and had me turn around so they could see the back of the shirt.  Sgt. Benjamin’s mom said that SA had done so much for them.  I was happy to hear that…and proud to be a part of SA.

I did take a few pics…

I still haven’t fixed the date on the darn camera. Shame on me.

For The Uncle/Formerly known as The Boy…The Dance Line

Gold Star Moms

Katy (who just happens to live across the street from me) singing the National Anthem.  (Except for our sweet Jenn’s Great Grampa Lal that belted it a few years ago when he was 98 yrs. old it was one of the best singings of the Anthem I’ve heard at our Memorial Days.)

Then I went home …and started to write… but was interrupted…by this..

Chillin’ in the pool with lil’ G and his grass mustache.

And so…it was Memorial Day.  Bittersweet in more ways than I can say.  But as the sun sets…I have….Gratitude…in more ways than I can say.

Love,
Mom

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

