Posted by: didyouseethis | January 1, 2010

Gratitude #29 Holiday Intentions and Gratitude

“Gratitude is the memory of the heart”

I had the best of intentions…to write a Thanksgiving post…Christmas post…Christmas cards…New Year’s post.  Somehow none of it got done.  Too many other things to do…not enough time…wonky feet.  (Plantar fasciitis…who’da thunk sitting could make your feet hurt as bad as standing on them all day!)

How often do we hear the phrase “keep Christmas in your heart all year long”?  Personally, I want to keep Thanksgiving in my heart all year long. I’ve got  be truthful, sometimes it’s not easy.  Especially working retail…there are some very crabby people in the world in case you haven’t noticed.  And that is part of the reason for the gratitude lists and the memory garden…I don’t want to add to the general crabiness.  ( That is not to say I can’t be bitchy.  But I try to have logic and good reasons behind that bitchiness.)

2009 wasn’t an easy year…are any of them really?  And yet, if I put my mind to it, the list would be quite long…there is so  much that was wonderful and that I am so very grateful for.

The photo above  is my Memory Garden. The candle burns every night in thanksgiving and for the safety of our troops.  (As well as any other “special intentions”.)

One year has ended and another begun…and I  will light another candle. It will be in gratitude for all the wonderful people in my life. You have all made my life richer.
While thinking about the passing of another year, I found myself humming one of my favorite songs.  And, I find something else to be grateful for.  *Someone I disagree with  so completely on so many subjects …could write a song that the first time I heard it 11 years ago…took my breath away because it touched me so deeply.  I still feel that every time I hear it.


See the moon roll across the stars
See the seasons turn like a heart
Your father’s  days are lost to you
This is your time to do what you will do
Chorus
Your life is now
Your life is now
Your life is now
In this undiscovered moment
Lift your head up above the crowd
You could shake this world
If you would only show us how
Your life is now

Would you teach your children to tell the truth
Would you take the high road if you could choose
Do you believe you’re a victim of a great compromise
Because I believe you change your mind, you change our lives
(George Green, John Mellencamp)

I know somewhere beyond the snowy clouds tonight the moon rolls across the stars…and my life is now.

Love and Happy New Year,
Mom

* “I write a lot of songs that could be interpreted as big patriotic songs, but in reality they’re questioning the direction the country is going. After every song in Boston, 20,000 people were going, ‘USA, USA.’ I thought, man. I almost asked them to stop, stop doing that. I don’t like it. I don’t like hearing that chant.” — John Cougar Mellencamp

Leave a Reply

Categories

