Posted by: didyouseethis | July 17, 2009

Apollo 11…The Mind of Man

119677main_image_feature_359a_ys_4

All I started out to do was  to post a link to the We Choose the Moon website where you can follow the  Apollo 11 mission in “real time”.    I wandered over to YouTube to look at video of the launch and found the one  below.  That started me thinking.

I’ve been toying with the idea of  reading Atlas Shrugged…again.  (I have no idea how many times I’ve read it.  The first time, I think, was in 1969.)  Truth be told, I’m a little afraid…I listen/watch the news and I have flashes of characters from the book.  Watching this video one can’t help be struck by the absolute Power and Majesty…of the Saturn V.  I know you’re wondering just how the heck this ties in with Atlas Shrugged…it’s simple.  In it, Ayn Rand, talks about the mind of man.  I couldn’t help but think of that as I watched …all that power…originated in someones mind.  Possibilities….

Love,
Mom
(And for a certain Daughter…things that came out of the space program: GPS, anything cordless, freeze dried food, lightweight padding that’s probably in your sneakers, smoke detectors, scratch resistant glass, satellite dish, ear thermometer, firefighter equipment, thermal gloves and boots…just sayin’.)

Responses

  1. This lecture by Ayn Rand entitled “Apollo and Dionysus” comes from ARC.

    http://tinyurl.com/mdf4bo

  2. Forgive me, freeze dried food has been such an important part of my life, without which I do not know what I would do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

