Posted by: didyouseethis | June 9, 2009

Sweet Sixteen

June 2009 009

In Celsius…well…almost.  Today is my birthday, and I am 60.  So there, I’ve said it!  Funny thing is…it doesn’t feel any different from 59 or 39 or the infamous 29.  My Mom and a sweet neighbor lady once told me within days of each other “I feel just like I always have.”  I wondered if that could be true…and now I know it is.  I am me.

I spent some time this morning surfing around, reading what other people had to say about age and aging.  There were lots of long soul searching essays.  There were irreverent funny takes on milestone birthdays.   My favorites were brief and to the point and have a similar theme.

Billy Joel:
“What I’ve realized about turning 60 is I’m not just one age, I’m every age I’ve ever been. Sometimes I’m 11, sometimes 16, sometimes I’m 25, sometimes I’m 38, sometimes I’m 42, sometimes I’m in my 50s. I’m all over the place.”

Madeleine L’Engle:
“The great thing about getting older is that you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been.”

Anais Nin
“We do not grow absolutely, chronologically. We grow sometimes in one dimension, and not in another; unevenly. We grow partially. We are relative. We are mature in one realm, childish in another. The past, present, and future mingle and pull us backward, forward, or fix us in the present. We are made up of layers, cells, constellations.”

I”m every age I’ve ever been!  How great is that?  I find much comfort in that thought.  And “we are made up of layers, cells, constellations”…absolutely reminiscent of Delenn in Babylon 5…”..we are star-stuff.”

And then there is the quote from T. S. Eliot

“I don’t believe one grows older. I think that what happens early on in life is that at a certain age one stands still and stagnates.”

I have absolutely no intention of stagnating…or being bored…damn…there’s just too much to do, to read, to discover.

Finally, there is the famous poem Warning by Jenny Joseph.  It’s the manifesto for the Red Hat ladies.  Now, when I first read the poem and an article about the Red Hats…I thought it sounded like fun.   I get a lot of those ladies at work…and to tell you the truth…most of them…are a pain in the butt.  Very stuffy and often snooty.  (And to those of you who aren’t… my apologies…especially the one lady who shared drink suggestions with me!)  So…a warning to The Daughter and The Boy…I just might start wearing purple, and buying brandy, and picking flowers from other people’s gardens (oh, wait…I already do that!). I’m enough like Grampa that you ought to be scared…but Grama’s in there too…so maybe I won’t be too outrageous.

Love,
Mom

p.s…. to The Daughter…Thank you for the giant cupcake-cake…I’m so glad you inherited Grama’s cake baking gene!

Leave a Reply

Categories

