Posted by: didyouseethis | May 1, 2009

Cpl. Brad Davis…Garfield Heights Honors You

n0424cpc.jpg

Cpl. Brad Davis
30 December 1987 – 22 April 2009
Fox Company, TF 2-505th PIR
Baghdad, Iraq

I went to a funeral yesterday.  I did not know the young man.  But, as often happens in life, people I know…knew him…some of those people that knew him… know people I work with…and their children…and some…know The Boy.  Round and round. Degrees of separation.

Even though I’ve never met Cpl. Davis, I feel a sense of connection and loss and pride.  He belonged to his family first and my heart breaks for  his parents, sisters and brother.  He was also a part of the community I live in, the grade school I  attended, the church I was married in and my parents were  buried from.  As more people gathered near the church, I could hear greetings of recongnition.  People that knew each other with varying degrees of separation were coming together in front of the high school, the church, lining the streets.

It seems to me, most of us don’t give much but a passing thought to most of the people we see in the course of a day.  There are those we say hello to in passing and those we recognize but don’t necessarily acknowledge in any way.  But…yesterday was different.  All these people, known and unknown to each other came together to honor “one of us”.  One who had the strength and courage of heart to do what none but a small brotherhood can claim…he was an American Soldier.

And finally…to Grant Segall of the Cleveland Plain Dealer

Regarding the first and last paragraphs of your article. ..while Cpl. Davis may represent one name on that list of four thousand you felt necessary to reference…he represents a longer list. A line that predates the founding of this country. Of men, who when asked to do their country’s  bidding, answered the call with honor amd courage.

President Kennedy said, “Ask not what your country can do for you.  Ask what you can do for your country.”  To that Brad Davis said, “Send me.”

That, Mr. Segall, is a HERO, not a victim.

However, thank you for reminding me why I canceled my PD subscription.

Love,
Mom

Responses

  1. My prayers for all who love HERO Cpl. Brad Davis.


Leave a Reply

Categories

