Posted by: didyouseethis | January 20, 2009

20 January 2009

And so it ends …and so it begins.  The orderly transfer of the leadership of our country.

I am an American.  I’m not a citizen of the world or a child of the universe (at least not until the grays or the Klingons show up).

American.

As an American…I have a new president.  On one end of the spectrum there are people who are so hyped up on hope…I’m pretty sure they think the clouds are going to part and the angels sing at noon today.  On the other end are those who are sure the end is near.  I’ve heard people say they will afford this president the respect that was given to President Bush.  (How tempting that is.) There are those who fought vigorously against Obama’s election  and now say they hope he succeeds.  I suppose the question is…whose definition of success?  (I’d say the chances of President Obama becoming the second coming of President Reagan are fairly slim.)

So…my thought for the day…

I want  my country to succeed…always….to live up to the vision of the authors of our Constitution and that we continue to be the best and most blessed nation “on God’s green earth.”  And so in keeping with that…I wish my new President well.

Responses

  1. ITA-I want my country to succeed.

    As a McCain voter, today’s inaugeration, is just one thing that makes me love our country. The orderly transition of power, the fulfillment of dreams and that we are all Americans, are just a few.

    All Americans should put aside any grievances that they have about Obama, if only for today. Just share in the joy of our Republic and know that with God’s help we are blessed to live in the United States of America.

    God bless our new president and God bless our country.


Leave a Reply

Categories

