Posted by: didyouseethis | November 27, 2008

Thanksgiving Gratitude

gratitude3

I’ve spent a good part of yesterday and today thinking about Thanksgiving. It seems to me that just as we should keep Christmas in our hearts all year…everyday should/could be Thanksgiving. That’s really why I started my gratitude posts…to remind myself of all the good things…even the little things I am blessed with.

I thought about lists…I’m big on lists…but I think if I had to distill it all down…it starts with four names. Joseph Tajek, Mathias Cipra, Joseph Hlavin and Frank Frejlach. My greatgrandfathers. Between 1871 and 1886 they made the decision to leave their homes in Bohemia and with their families make their way to America.

That has made all the difference.

I will never know exactly the reasons behind their journeys or what they went through when they arrived. I only know that I am eternally grateful that they made that decision. Because every day is a gift and every day I wake up…I do so…as an American.

I thank God for my DH, The Daughter, The Boy, our larger family, my wonderful quirky friends (some of whom are not American but I am thankful for the countries that allowed them to become who they are).

I wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving day…now…I’ve got a dinner to make.

Love, Mom

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. But I am always in the mood for gratefulness. Hope you don’t mind me joining in. Your president, Abraham Lincoln is so wise!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    Gratefulness gives us contentment and peace of mind. These two qualities help reduce our stress level which helps greatly in keeping us healthy.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

  2. I am thankful every single day for oh so many things and people in my life…

    You are on my list!

    Here we celebrated Thanksgiving a few weeks back, but I celebrate with you all today.:)

  3. And I’m thankful for y’all in my life…

  4. Brat, it’s strange, but she’s on my list, too! 😉 So’s that Eagle person… 🙂

  5. Outstanding video, I will be sharing.

    THANK YOU!!
    GOD BLESS and have a Merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

Categories

