Posted by: didyouseethis | July 20, 2008

Gratitude…A Joy Shared…

…is a joy doubled…or in this case…tripled…sextupled (is that a word?) Anyway…family joys shared…birthdays, baby showers, weddings. All wonderful and especially wonderful when “family” extends beyond “immediate” and beyond “blood”. Our clan has had a busy week of preparations for several special events. We’ve spent the past week cleaning, cooking, baking, mowing, pruning, wrapping, drawing, shopping …whew!

Thursday evening DH and I took a break to meet our good friend Mark and head on down to the Cinemark to see Glenn Beck’s Unelectable ’08 Tour. I love Glenn…two words...Common Sense ! He cuts through all the politically correct bs which is why if he ever considered running for elected office…he would be…unelectable.

Friday was when everything was supposed to come together…and for the most part it did. First, it was my sister’s birthday. A cake and special “Birthday Girl” pin for her. The Daughter outdid herself…a chocolate/vanilla checkerboard cake for Auntie Em’s birthday. I’m so impressed! I guess it’s true about some things skipping a generation. The Daughter got the cake baking gene I seem to be missing.

After all her baking efforts for the partying at home…she had to be absent from the festivities because a group of her best friends were celebrating the impending birth of Crystal’s baby. They are a tight bunch and have great time together. Like right now…the Daughter and Linda are out seeing the new Batman movie…which means Linda is not posting photos from the shower. So…I’ve chosen one from one of their past outings. (For reasons some of you will understand.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

And last, but certainly not least we celebrated a wedding for the newlyweds in the family. Since we couldn’t make it east last week…the celebrants came west…before they headed east…in order to get to their final destination which was…south…(it’s very complicated). Good food (a lil’ wedding cake compliments of The Daughter), good conversation, lots of silliness and just not enough time.

It all went too fast and we are back to the everyday routine…the proof? DH is out right now getting new rotors and brake pads for my car. (Have I ever mentioned how much I hate cars and driving?) But that’s another post for another day.

So, here I sit feeling such gratitude and love for all the wonderful people in my life. (Trying not to get too aggravated that for whatever reason…WordPress is not loading photographs at the moment…at least not simply…this too shall pass…I hope.)

Love You All, Mom

Responses

  1. Mark had a great time at the show with you guys! Marie, your cakes look so nice!! I love my friends and family (including you guys-my extended family!)

  2. And we love you and Mark too!

  3. Wow – I am so honored to have made your blog! “The Daughter” rocks!!!

  4. As do all her friends Crystal!

  5. the cake looks fantastic!!
    oh and yes I am back ๐Ÿ˜‰ the former battlekittie ๐Ÿ˜€ hope you remember me ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Well, of course I remember you! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

