Posted by: didyouseethis | May 8, 2008

Reading Is Fundamental

I have a friend who uses the word ignorant, not as an insult (as I have often thought of it), but as a description…true to the word’s definition.

1 a: destitute of knowledge or education <an ignorant society>; also : lacking knowledge or comprehension of the thing specified <parents ignorant of modern mathematics> b: resulting from or showing lack of knowledge or intelligence <ignorant errors>
Note: This is the only clip I could find to download…I’m trying to keep to higher ground…but calling Mr. King a “rat fink”…I won’t dispute it. 🙂
On further thought…it came to me that the man is ignorant. He writes, therefore, I assume he reads. But this statement…is an ignorant error. He is showing a lack of knowledge. I understand he was trying to make the point that if you can read…the future is brighter for you. (We won’t go into the hard work and determination factor here.)   The fact remains though, he is ignorant. As Ms. Hamilton points out, maybe he has never had a friend in the military…or for that matter…ever spoken to anyone in the military. I have the great pleasure of including a number of military people as friends, and have spoken to many more in passing. I am so very often humbled by their intelligence and the scope of their literary tastes. Mr. King is coming from a 60’s frame of mind. While they may sign up for many reasons, he forgets…this is an all volunteer Army. I would suggest Mr. King do a little reading!
Love, Mom
Responses

  1. Amen & Amen! His remarks totally infuriated me – I enjoyed his books years ago, but will never spend another penny that might go to him. I agree with you, one would think he actually READS, since he writes. He obviously doesn’t read the same things we read! He’s missing a world of good stories…


Leave a Reply

Categories

