Posted by: didyouseethis | February 4, 2008

Gratitude Inventory

I’ve written about gratitude before…but for the last week I’ve been thinking about it a lot. Not to sound new-agey but it feels like I’m being “directed”. Conversations, books, radio, television shows, blog posts…everyday there’s been something about or related to gratitude, thankfulness, appreciation. For a long time I kept a gratitude journal. It’s been a while though. And while I haven’t stopped feeling gratitude…I haven’t really “documented” it for myself. The thing that has finally got me moving again was a podcast I’d forgotten was on my iPod. Every Friday Dennis Prager does an hour on happiness. One of these shows was with Robert Emmons author of Thanks!: How The New Science Of Gratitude Can Make You Happier. It got me thinking about the book that started my keeping of the gratitude journal, Sarah Ban Breathnach’s Simple Abundance

(The Simple Abundance website requires registration and a big fee, but we’re not talking about that…just the book)

I know, it sounds so touchy/feely, caring/sharing, self-help….but hear me out.

We get so busy with day to day life…the daily obligations of family and work. The hectic pace. (Never mind the big stuff that can send us reeling.) It’s so easy to get in a rut or become overwhelmed or cynical. I find myself overwhelmed at times by all that needs to be done and at the end of the day feel I’ve missed something. That something is the simple act acknowledging the “good stuff”.

So…starting today I’m going to try to get back to gratitude journaling. Adding some new notes on the fridge. Everyday… to write something about gratitude. Might be a list, a quotation I found in a book, on someone’s blog, on a billboard, a photograph, the best thing that happened all day….something. An inventory of sorts.

In his book Happiness Is A Serious Problem, Dennis Prager says that the key to happiness is gratitude. It motivates us to return the goodness we’ve received and that we can’t be good or happy without it. That we have a moral obligation to be as happy as we can. Sounds about right to me.

Gratitude Inventory

*”There is no duty we so much underrate as the duty of being happy. By being happy we sow anonymous benefits upon the world.” Robert Louis Stevenson

*DH, The Daughter, The Boy

*Strawberries, grapes, cantalope, honeydew, chocolate covered pineapple

*Purring cats

*Leftovers for dinner that I’m really looking forward to

Love, Mom

 

Responses

  1. […] through the Mom archives and coming across this post.  I motivated […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

