Posted by: didyouseethis | September 10, 2007

Soldier

My friend said to me, “this would make a good blog post”. So…I’ve spent a good part of last night and this morning thinking about what I might write. Master Gunner did this post about how what Soldiers do is selfish, not selfless.

“I do what I “do” because I love it, and could not imagine doing anything else. So in that sense, my “service” is, arguably, self-serving.”

I’ve thought a lot about that…and came to the realization that what Soldiers’ Angels do is selfish in a similar way. We get something out of it too. A great joy in supporting the military and in particular, individual Soldiers. Because in the end, they are all individuals. They all have their own reasons for serving and every one of them has their own story.

This story is about me and my Soldier. As I said, they all have a story. Some of my Soldier’s story is out there, he’s written about it. Soldiers’ Angels tell you when you sign on to not expect to hear from the Soldier. If you do, it’s a plus…but that’s not why we do this. I’ve had several “silent Soldiers”. But sometimes….you do hear from them…and sometimes…the other Angels (the real ones) put people together at just the right time. SC and I became acquainted a little over two years ago. He often asks me if I ever could have imagined what I was in for when I wrote to him the first time. I can honestly say no I couldn’t…and right here the usual thing would be to say… “I wouldn’t change a thing”……..but……I would…oh, how I would change things… if only it was in my power.

We send each other links to blogs and news articles. He explains things military to me. He trades Army/Navy insults with DH (we won’t go into the whole baseball thing). He’s turned me on to the Ryanverse. Clancypalooza continues.

We’ve laughed and cried a lot over the last two years. DH and I went to visit him in January…and this weekend he came to see us.

reid-m-c.jpg

Today, General Petraeus gives his report. I’ve heard some Dem sound bites that just made me crazy (Sen. Schumer…you disgust me). So while I always try to remember…this is not about me…I have to tell you…to stand in my front yard…in front of my flag…with an American Soldier…was a proud, proud moment.

reid9807011.jpg

Love, Mom

Note: to two special Angel Friends…guess I’m doing the happy dance πŸ˜›

Responses

  1. Dance on kiddo! Absolutely awesome. None of us do what we do for any personal reward or recognition, but oh how sweet for you to spend this time with your Soldier – and to see those smiles after the 2 years you have all had?

    Priceless…….Love it πŸ™‚

  2. It was an Honor, Priviledge, and pleasure for me to spend time with my Angel.

    There IS more to Cleveland than the local seasonal insomniac clinic…

  3. It was an Honor, Priviledge, and pleasure for me to spend time with my Angel.

    There IS more to Cleveland than the local seasonal insomniac clinic…

  4. Thanks brat.

    SC….phibbttttt

  5. Hey πŸ™‚

    You absolutely have the right to be proud! πŸ™‚ What we do might be considered as “selfish” in this way that we don’t have to be “ashamed” (I hope I express everything the right way, so please don’t be upset if we get something wrong πŸ™‚ ). So many people just run around and say they support the soldiers, but actually it is the only thing they do. We act. We don’t sit around knowing that we should act, we don’t have to feel kind of guilty that we don’t show them that we care. We love what we do and we DO it the best way we can. Maybe we don’t make a change to the world, but at least we tried. Others give so much to make the world a better place (i.e. in this case soldiers) and everyone should help doing this, some don’t, but in some way we do.
    I hope noone missunderstands me πŸ˜‰ I am not a SA because I want to compare me to others like “and what did you do…?”, I just wrote what another view of this subject might be.

  6. Nah, I’d say a privillege for him MA!!

    Just kidding SC. glad you guys had a great weekend. See you all Down Under soon!!! (Well, soon as I win the damm lotto anyway)

  7. Thank you for this post and thank you for your love of heroes and heart of angels.
    Love
    Patti


Leave a Reply

Categories

