Posted by: didyouseethis | September 1, 2007

Heroes…Wednesday and Otherwise

I’m thinking about heroes today. And the people that recognize heroes. Most troops will tell you that they are just doing their jobs and that the heroes are the ones who did not come back.

Today is the first anniversary of the Wednesday Hero Blogroll. (Click the link and watch the video of all the Wednesday Heroes.) It is a non-partisan post Indian Chris at Right-Wing and Right Minded does every Wednesday that “honors the brave men and women in the United States military, their families and others that have given to our troops.” There are about a hundred blogs taking part in this every Wednesday. These are people who recognize the heroic in our world at war.

Yesterday the Cleveland area honored a local hero, Cpl. Joshua Harmon, 20 from Mentor-on-the-Lake. He died August 22 in the helicopter crash near Kirkuk, Iraq. Cpl. Harmon’s father is the Fire Chief for Willoughby Hills, Ohio.

joshuasharmon_1.jpg

DH just happens to work nearby and so yesterday, he planned his daily mail run to coincide with the funeral procession. He timed it just right. The streets were blocked by trucks and city employees…and people lining the sidewalks. The Patriot Guard Riders were there as were firefighters from surrounding communities. DH pulled up to the intersection and got out of the car. Another car pulled up behind him and a woman got out and asked him what the problem was…”is it an accident?” “No”, he told her, “it’s the funeral procession for Cpl. Harmon.” Blank stare. “A Soldier, he was killed in Iraq, this is his funeral.” Blank stare. “Oh, well, I don’t pay attention to that stuff, I don’t read the paper or anything.” Now, I’m sure the look on DH’s face was not a blank stare. He told me all the things that ran through his mind to say to this woman and in the end decided that it was not the time or place. Besides, she was busy getting back in her car, maneuvering it around so she could find a way around the obstruction to her day.

Cpl. Harmon did something the majority of people cannot/will not do. He signed up to serve his country, as many of the Wednesday Heroes have. He lost his life in defense of his country, as many of the Wednesday Heroes have. The Eleanor Roosevelt Wartime Prayer comes to mind again…

Dear Lord,
Lest I continue
My complacent way,
Help me to remember
that somewhere,
Somehow out there
A man died for me today.
As long as there be war,
I then must
Ask and answer
Am I worth dying for?

So, because of that I’ve been thinking about heroes and the people who recognize them and honor them. (And the people who are clueless.)

Godspeed Cpl. Harmon.

Thank You Indian Chris

.wednesdayheroesblogrollez3.jpg

Love, Mom

Responses

  1. “Am I worth it?” Every time I hear of a story like this I ask myself: “Am I worth it?”

    God bless all our troops.

  2. Although it clearly wasn’t the time or place, I’m not sure I could have been as restrained as your DH. He has my admiration.

    As Brat said, God Bless Our Troops!

  3. I never asked myself if was worth dying for, but since I read this question I am wondering this every day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

