Posted by: didyouseethis | August 19, 2007

Question…

Eleanor Roosevelt’s Wartime Prayer

Dear Lord,
Lest I continue
My complacent way,
Help me to remember
that somewhere,
Somehow out there
A man died for me today.
As long as there be war,
I then must
Ask and answer
Am I worth dying for?

I found this prayer at Knee Deep in the Hooah. I’d never seen this prayer. It took my breath away…that is a question to think about…and I am thinking hard. Am I?

I hadn’t read Claire’s blog before, but I will be stopping by often.

Love, Mom

Responses

  1. Very nice poem; makes me stop and think if I’m doing what I should be doing. Soldiers have and are fighting and dying for our freedoms. I pray for all of them and their safe return.


Leave a Reply

Categories

