Posted by: didyouseethis | May 28, 2007

Parade and Memorial Service

The Boy and I went to our local Memorial Day Parade this morning. We talked to a WWII vet who was in the Battle of the Bulge. While we were talking several people came by and thanked him and shook his hand. He told us of being “in the arc”, the place in-between the Allied and German shelling. He also told us of seeing the concentration camps. You could see the sorrow in his eyes…and pride too in what he and his brothers in arms had accomplished.

The parade reached the Veteran’s Memorial and there were speeches made and prayers said. The Boy and I eavesdropped on a conversation between the Police Chief and a Vet. The Vet was telling the Chief about his son, a Ranger who was on his third deployment. His vehicle had hit an IED 3 weeks ago. His son was not badly injured and was back in the fight. We also overheard that his son had been awarded two Bronze Stars.

Last year the National Anthem was sung by a 97 year old Veteran, and I can tell you, the man had some pipes! This year we were told he didn’t feel he could attend and his place was taken by a young lady from the high school marching band. Get this girl on American Idol…and I might just watch it! She had a beautiful strong voice and sang it “straight”…no stylizing…just the National Anthem. She then led the crowd in singing “God Bless America”. As I looked around the crowd nearest us, most people had tears in their eyes…I know I did.

Not being a “journalist” I neglected to get the names of these people…except for one. As we were leaving, we passed the father of the Ranger. I was able to ask him his son’s name (just as the marching band was passing). I will keep in my prayers SSG Herman Crendamian.

memorialdayservice002.jpg


memorialdayservice006.jpg

memorialdayservice008.jpg

memorialdayservice010.jpg

memorialdayservice012.jpg

I keep all those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in my thoughts and prayers today, along with all who have served in the past and our “best and brightest” who serve today.

Semper Gratis

Love, Mom

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. All these Memorial Day posts are just great, M*A! Thank you for them.

  2. Great post. I’m adding SSG Herman Crendamian to prayers. I am constantly amazed at the courage of our Military.

  3. Beautiful write up Mary*Ann!

  4. Thank you all. It was an inspiring morning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

